

Athabasca University Graduate Students' Association

10818 Jasper Avenue PO Box 35092 Edmonton, AB T5J 0B7

Phone: 1-866-625-5943 Fax: 780-497-7003 Web: http://www.augsa.com

Council Meeting Minutes

Date: June 2, 2014 **Place:** Web conference

Time: 5:00pm

Attendance: Lynde McKinley, President

Kaitlyn Hillier, VP Operations & Finance

Kurt Spady, VP External Nicole Hill, VP Academic

Peter Chan, Faculty of Business Representative Maria Greaves, Faculty of Business Representative Justin Litun, Faculty of Business Representative

Sharon Hamlin, Faculty of Health Disciplines Representative Julia Radke, Faculty of Health Disciplines Representative

Sarah Barbour, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences Representative Cynthia Gordon, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences Representative

Kathleen Kelava, Faculty of Health Disciplines Representative Steve Harris, Faculty of Science & Technology Representative Eric George, Faculty of Science & Technology Representative

Steve Green, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences Representative

Nadine Muglia, Centre for Distance Education Representative

Ross Tyson, Executive Director Eric Snow, Speaker of Council

Regrets:

Absent: Peter Chan joined the meeting late

INDEX	MINUTES	ACTION
1.0 – Call to Order	Meeting called to order at 5:00pm MT.	
2.0 – Approval of Agenda	MOTION: To accept the agenda (Greaves/ VP	
	Academic)	
	Amendment to the motion: (President, VP Academic)	

	T	
	To move 6.1 up on the agenda up to item 3.1. Carried	
	Motion: (Greaves, VP Academic) To adopt the agenda	
	as amended. Carried (Unanimously)	
	as aniences carried (Ondininously)	
3.0 – Approval of Previous	MOTION: (President / Litun) That the previous	
Meeting's Minutes	meeting's April 27 minutes be approved as amended.	
	(President/Hill) Carried.(Unanimously)	
	(Freshaeing Film) Carried (Chammious)	
3.1 –Motion to fill vacant	(moved forward on the agenda) MOTION: To appoint	
seat on council	Steve Harris in the vacant seat on Council in Faculty	
	of Science and Technology. Carried. Abstained: Kat	
	Hillier	
4.0 – Declaration of Conflicts	The speaker explained the document to the Council.	
of Interest		
5.0 – New Business		
5.0 – New Business		
5.1 – Explanation of	Ross Tyson presented an explanation. Because the	
Executive Reports and	connection was poor Executive agreed to individually	
Bonus Process	present a little more detail this month.	
20145 110005	p-som a more detail and month.	
5.2- Selection of Executive	The following people put their names forward for the	
Compensation Committee	Compensation Committee. (Need five members plus	
	two executive members; President and VPOF)	
	Faculty members: Nominations: Maria Greaves, Nadine	
	Muglia, Cynthia Gordon, Julia Radke and Steve Harris.	
	Motion: (VP Academic, Green) To appoint Maria	
	Greaves, Nadine Muglia, Cynthia Gordon, Julia	
	Radke and Steve Harris to the Compensation Committee. Carried (Unanimously)	
5.3 – Executive Reports	The reports were presented as distributed.	
3.3 - Executive Reports	The reports were presented as distributed.	
6.0 – Other Business		
6.1 Working group for	The working group (Compensation Committee) will	
Compensation Review	meet in the near future. President McKinley will	
	contact members.	
	0.7	
6.2- Awards Committee	Strike an awards committee:	

Created by: Ross Tyson Last revised: June 3, 2014

File location: M:\Documents\AUGSA\Minutes\02 June 2014 Minutes.doc

	Motion: (President/Greaves) To create an awards committee of six members.
	Amended motion: (President, Greaves) To have two executive members - President of AUGSA and VP of Academic plus have four (4) AU council members to sit on the Awards Committee as representatives for AUGSA.
	Carried unanimously
	Vote on original motion. Carried Unanimously
	Motion: To postpone nomination of committee members to a future meeting: (VP Academic, Peter Chan) The motion has failed.
	Committee members volunteering to serve: Steve Green, Maria Greaves, Nadine Muglia, Sharon Hamlin, Justin Litun.
	An email election process followed with the following results:
	Members of the Awards Committee 2014-15 are: Sharon Hamlin Steve Green, Maria Greaves and Nadine Muglia.
	Motion: (President, Kelava) To accept the report as sent to the Speaker by Mr. Tyson. Carried Unanimously
7.0 – Other Business	
7.1 Broadband speed	A discussion on broadband speed and the clarity of the meeting for some individuals. (Your internet service provider gives download and upload speed in Megabits per second). Could we complete a survey and review it next meeting.
7.2 President request	Council members: please give feedback on the Council Retreat and the first Council meeting to President McKinley.
8.0 - Adjournment	Motion: To adjourn the meeting: (Greaves, President) Carried unanimously

	Meeting adjourned at 7:10 PM.
Lynde McKinley, President	
Ross Tyson, Executive Director	
Date of Approval	