

Direct: 780.257.5394

Toll free: 1.866.625.5943

135-2525 36th St NE PO Box 57202, Calgary, AB T1Y 6R4

## **AUGSA Council Meeting**

April 12<sup>th</sup>, 2022 – 6:00pm MST Microsoft Teams

## **Attendance**

Executive Committee: Kelli Buckreus (VP External), Chris Edwards (VP Operations & Finance),

Kareena Hart (VP Academic)

Faculty of Business Representatives: Margaret Clappison, Ian Chitwood

Faculty of Health Disciplines Representatives: Sarah Reid

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Representative: Heather McGilvary, Alice Kang,

Ruby Tano, Sabrina Martin

Faculty of Science and Technology: Ajibade Shodunke, Russell Rupok

Staff: Meaghan Sullivan (Executive Director)

Regrets: Julia Cornester (President), Sarah James, Kayleigh Dodge, Charlesly Salter

		PRESENTER	ACTION
1.0	Call to Order	President	The meeting was called to order at 6:07 pm MT.
2.0	Approval of Agenda	President	Motion 2.0 To approve the agenda as amended.
			Moved: Kareena Hart
			Seconded: Heather McGilvary
			Motion carried without opposition.
3.0	Approval of Previous	President	Motion 3.0 To approve the minutes of March 8,
	Minutes		2022 as presented.
			Moved: Kareena Hart
			Seconded: Ajibade Shodunke
			Motion carried without opposition.
4.0	Election Results	Meaghan	The 2022-2023 election has concluded and the
		Sullivan	results are:
			Executive Committee Elections





Direct: 780.257.5394 Toll free: 1.866.625.5943 135-2525 36th St NE PO Box 57202, Calgary, AB T1Y 6R4

Chris Edwards, President
Sarah Reid, VP Academic
3. Dana Montgomery, VP External
4. Dennis Delgado, VP Operations & Finance
Faculty Representative Elections
Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
Heather Anne McGilvary
Angelo Delli Santi
3. Khagendra Bhandari
Faculty of Health
4. Jillian Nickel
5. Sabrina Martin
6. Charlesly Salter
7. Vacant
8. Vacant
Faculty of Business
O. Margaret Clannican
<ol> <li>Margaret Clappison</li> <li>Ian Chitwood</li> </ol>
11. Gordon Chandler
\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \
Faculty of Science & Technology
12. Rayees Khan
13. Russell Rupok
Motion 4.0: To approve the election results for
the 2022-2023 Executive Committee and Council
as presented.



Moved: Kareena Hart



Direct: 780.257.5394 Toll free: 1.866.625.5943 135-2525 36th St NE PO Box 57202, Calgary, AB T1Y 6R4

			Seconded: Alice Kang
			Motion carried without opposition.
	In-Camera Session	Kelli Buckreus	Motion 5.0: To move the meeting to an incamera session.  Moved: Sabrina Martin Seconded: Alice Kang Carried without opposition.
5.0	Reports and Presentations		No reports were presented.
6.0	Financial Reports		The financial reports were presented.
7.0	Committee Updates		
	7.1 Governance Committee		The policy binder has been updated by the Governance Committee to remove outdated content. It has also been formatted to follow the new AUGSA brand standards.
			Motion 7.1: to approve the policy binder as
			presented.  Moved: Margaret Clappison  Seconded: Ian Chitwood  Motion carried without opposition.
	7.2 Awards Committee		Several new bursaries and awards were presented. This included:  New or Updated Awards  1. Award for Learners Over 50 2. Graduate Citizenship Award 3. AUGSA Leadership Award for Women 4. Outstanding Distinction (updated)  New or Updated Bursaries  1. Family Care Bursary 2. LGBTQIA Bursary





Direct: 780.257.5394 Toll free: 1.866.625.5943 135-2525 36th St NE PO Box 57202, Calgary, AB T1Y 6R4

		3. Accessibility Needs Bursary
		4. Childcare Bursary
		5. Emergency Bursary (updated)
		6. Travel Bursary (updated)
		7. Technology Bursary (replacing Computer
		Bursary)
		Motion 7.2: to approve the addition of the
		bursaries and awards to the Awards policy as
		presented.
		Moved: Sarah Reid
		Seconded: Margaret Clappison
		Motion carried without opposition.
	7.3 Engagement	No updates at this time.
	Committee	
	7.4 Finance Committee	No updates at this time.
	7.5 Strategic Planning	No updates at this time.
	Committee	
	7.6 Elections	No further updates at this time.
	Committee 7.7 Paragining	No undates at this time
	7.7 Bargaining Committee	No updates at this time.
	7.8 Other Committees	No updates at this time.
8.0	Upcoming Events	Motion 8.0: to approve the addition of \$1,500
		for travel expense for Kareena Hart's
		attendance to the AMICCUS-C NPC.
		Moved: Margaret Clappison
		Seconded: Sabrina Martin
		Motion carried without opposition.
9.0	New Business	
10.0	Old Business	
11.0	Other Business	Motion 11.0: To appoint Kelli Buckreus into the role of Acting President temporariliy.  Moved: Margaret Clappison





Direct: 780.257.5394

135-2525 36th St NE Toll free: 1.866.625.5943 PO Box 57202, Calgary, AB T1Y 6R4

		Seconded: Russell Rupok Motion carried without opposition.
12.0	Adjournment	Motion 11.0: To adjourn the meeting at 7:20 pm.  Moved: Chris Edwards Seconded: Kareena Hart Motion carried without opposition.
13.0	In-Camera Session	Motion 13.0: To move the meeting in-camera.  Moved: Sarah Reid Seconded: Sabrina Martin Motion carried without opposition.

Kelli Buckreus, Acting President
Chris Edwards, VP Operations & Finance

