

Athabasca University Graduate Students' Association

135-2525 36th St NE PO Box 57202 Calgary, AB T1Y 6R4

Phone: 1-866-625-5943 Web: http://www.augsa.com

AUGSA Minutes

Date: May 11, 2021 - 6:00pm MDT

Place: Web conference

Attendance:

Executive Committee: Julia Cornester (President), Chris Edwards (VP Operations & Finance), Kareena

Hart (VP Academic), Kelli Buckreus (VP External)

Faculty of Business Representatives: David Newman, Ian Chitwood

Faculty of Health Disciplines Representatives: Sarah Reid, Sabrina Martin, Kayleigh Dodge, Paul Valenti

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Representative: Heather McGilvary, Sarah James, Alice Kang

Faculty of Science and Technology: Ajibade Shodunke, Russell Rupok

Staff: Meaghan Sullivan (incoming Executive Director), Derek Balay (Speaker)

Absent: Margaret Clappison

		PRESENTER	ACTION
1.0	Call to Order	President	The meeting was called to order at 6:02 pm MDT.
2.0	Approval of Agenda	President	Motion 2.0 To approve the agenda as distributed.
			Moved: Heather McGilvray
			Seconded: Kelli Buckreus
			Motion carried without opposition.

4.0	Approval of Previous Minutes Faculty Representative – Health Diciplines Appointment	President President	Motion 3.0 To approve the minutes of April 13th, 2021. Moved: Kelli Buckreus Seconded: Julia Cornester Motion carried without opposition. Applicant has withdrawn their nomination.
5.0	Reports and Presentations 5.1 Executive Reports	President Executive	Julia welcomed Council to AUGSA and introduced
	SIT EXCOUNTE REPORTS	Committee	the Executive Director and Executive Committee.
	5.2 Financial Report	VP Operations & Finance	Chris Edwards presented the financial reports.
6.0	Old Business	President	
7.0	New Business	President	
	7.1 AUGSA Monthly Meetings and Expectations	President	Julia Cornester presented the annual Council meeting schedule and outlined the expectations for Council members including that normal etiquette for online meetings applies: Turn on your camera, be engaged, and keep your reports to the Coles notes.
	7.2 Honoraria	President	Honoraria is based on faculty representative participation in both Council meetings and subcommittee meetings. Attendance in additional capacities, including faculty councils and working groups at AU and/or lobby groups contributes to honoraria. Honoraria is paid out quarterly. • July 31 • October 31

			January 31
			• April 30
			Your sub-committee honorarium is guaranteed with each month even if there is not a meeting.
	7.3 Policy Binder	President	The policy binder can be found on the website under bylaws & policies. All faculty representatives and Executives are accountable to upholding these policies. Faculty Representatives and Executives are expected to be familiar with the Associations policies.
	7.4 Expense Claims	VP Operations & Finance	Chris Edwards outlined to Council that if there is any expense to Council members, to ensure it is preapproved by AUGSA. There is no guarantee that an expense will be covered by the Association and it is expected that Council members will not be submitting expense claims.
	7.5 Strategic Plan	President	Julia outlined the strategic plan and the core components of the strategic plan from advocacy to services.
8.0	Committees	President	
	8.1 Governance Committee	VP Operations & Finance	Motion 8.1a: To appoint the Vice President Operations and Finance, Heather McGilvray, Alice Kang, Ian Chitwood, Russell Rupok, and Kayleigh Dodge to the Governance Committee. Moved: Sarah Reid Seconded: Julia Cornester Motion carried without opposition. Motion 8.1b: To amend the Governance Committee with the removal of Kayleigh Dodge. Moved: Ajibade Shodunke Seconded: Sabrina Martin Motion carried without opposition.

8.2 Awards Committee	VP Academic	Motion 8.2: To appoint the Vice President Academic, Julia Cornester, Sarah James, Ajibade Shodunke and Sarah Reid to the Awards Committee. Moved: Chris Edwards
		Seconded: Russell Rupok
8.3 Engagement Committee	VP External	Motion carried without opposition. Motion 8.3.1: To appoint the Vice President External, Paul Valenti, Sabrina Martin, and Kayleigh
		Moved: Julia Cornester Seconded: Alice Kang Motion carried without opposition.
8.4 Finance Committee	VP Operations & Finance	Motion 8.4: To appoint Vice President Operations and Finance, David Newman, Margaret Clappison, and Heather McGlivray to the finance committee.
		Moved: Sabrina Martin Seconded: David Newman Motion carried without opposition.
8.5 Strategic Planning Committee	President	Motion 8.5: To appoint the President, Ajibade Shodunke, Paul Valenti and Kayleigh Dodge to the Strategic Planning Committee.
		Moved: Sarah James Seconded: Sabrina Martin Motion carried without opposition.
8.6 Election and Referenda Committee	Executive Director	The election and referenda committee shall be appointed in January.
8.7 Human Resources Committee	VP Operations & Finance	Motion 8.7: To appoint Vice President Operations and Finance, Kelli Buckreus, Alice Kang, David Newman, Margaret Clappison, and Heather McGlivray to the human resource committee.
		Moved: Julia Cornester Seconded: Sarah Reid Motion carried without opposition.
8.8 CASA & abGPAC Advocacy Representatives	VP External	Motion 8.8a: To appoint Alice Kang to the 2021-2022 CASA advocacy representative position.

			Moved: Chris Edwards Seconded: Ajibade Shodunke Motion carried without opposition. Motion 8.8b: To appoint Paul Valenti to the 2021- 2022 abGPAC advocacy representative position.
			Moved: Julia Cornester Seconded: Sarah James Motion carried without opposition.
9.0	Upcoming Events	President	 3MT (May 13th) Convocation (June) GSRC (October 1st & 2nd) Grad Lounge (every Friday)
10.0	Other Business	VP Academic, President	Additional roles that have been informally filled include: Faculty Councils: 1. FHD: Sabrina Martin 2. FB: Ian Chitwood 3. FHSS+E: Sarah James 4. FST: Russell Rupok Working Groups: 1. Mental Health: David Newman 2. Professional Development: David Newman 3. Digital Governance: Ajibade Shodunke
11.0	Adjournment	President	Motion 11.0: To adjourn the meeting at 7:05 pm. Moved: Chris Edwards Seconded: David Newman Carried without opposition.

Julia Cornester, President	
Meaghan Sullivan, Executive Director	r
Date of Approval	